How to Be a Girl

For several months now, I’ve been secretly working on a new project.  I just launched it, and I want YOU, the kind and gentle readers of my blog, to be the first to know about it:

logo

My new podcast! Starring gendermom and M.!

It’s an audio podcast about me and M.  In each episode, I talk about what it’s like raising a transgender kid, and M. chimes in with her wise and witty six-year-old perspective, too.  I created an animation to accompany the first one, which you can view here:  http://vimeo.com/93816674

You can listen to the rest of the episodes on my new podcast website, www.howtobeagirlpodcast.com, or find it on iTunes.

If you like it, please spread the word! I’d like as many people as possible to learn more about kids like mine.

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “How to Be a Girl

  1. Beautiful and simple. The bit where you talk about all of your gendered expectations for your child and her utter disregard for them struck me particularly. We do build an idea of who are children are going to be before they even learn how to tell us their own ideas, and it can be very hard indeed to let go of what we wanted for them.

    Thank you for sharing.

  2. Ive just listened to the first 2 podcasts, very close to home for me, I really wish Id told my parents when I was 9 my life possibly could have been different, cant wait to hearthe next installment, I too will share this on Facebook if I can

  3. Even though I already know your story, watching the video and hearing your daughters beautiful and happy voice brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for sharing with us 🙂

Leave a Reply

