Meeting Laverne (Part II)

laverne3

Two amazing trans girls: My daughter and Laverne Cox.

Earlier this summer I wrote on this blog about my daughter meeting Laverne CoxThe post went kind of viral. I heard from a lot of reporters interested in the story.  I gave a lot of interviews.  My daughter even gave an interview (her first!) to Amy Poehler’s Smart Girls website. (She rocked it!)

But there’s more to the story – quite a bit more.  With my daughter’s help, I created a new episode of my audio podcast to tell it.  You can listen to it here.

A note for anyone interested in supporting my podcast:  I just signed up for a website called Patreon. It’s designed to support independent artists like me, and it lets you pledge a small amount (like a dollar or a few bucks) each time I produce a new episode. (I’m only planning to produce one episode per month, and you can set a monthly maximum so I don’t drain your bank account!)  I created a little animation on the Patreon website to explain how it works – and to give a little background on the podcast.  Even if you don’t end up pledging, you might enjoy watching the cartoon!

 

9 thoughts on “Meeting Laverne (Part II)

  1. I love your podcast and gladly support you guys. Your content is wonderful and the podcast is well produced. Thank you so much for sharing your story with the world.

  2. I am so happy for the success of your podcast, Gendermom and it sure sounds like you and M have been very busy. Congrats! I’m happy to pledge and I cast my vote to Gendermom for President 2016!!

  3. Your blog is wonderful. I love especially that you’re honest about the struggle against the little thoughts that you wish you didn’t have, like continually wondering whether it’s just a phase even though you know it’s not. In this podcast I’m really glad that you acknowledged, at least briefly, that M has the benefit of several privileges that someone like Laverne Cox didn’t or doesn’t have. When you talked about their meeting, I imagined that part of Cox’s surprise might have come from how unthinkable it would have been for her to have told a roomful of people at age 7 that she’s trans. It’s not just unthinkable because times have changed (somewhat). Part of what makes it possible for you to support M the way you do, as you mention, is that you’re white, live in a nice neighborhood, have the money for hormone therapy later, and (I assume) are educated. So in a way Laverne Cox is opening doors that a 7-year-old version of herself probably wouldn’t be able to walk through now. That’s pretty unfair. There’s something to be said for fighting winnable battles first, then moving on to the tougher ones later. So maybe less privileged trans kids will eventually benefit too, just a little later. There’s also something to be said for making social justice struggles intersectional from the beginning: dealing with gender and race and class (in this case) all at once, instead of separately.
    So it sits a little uncomfortably that you told M that she doesn’t have to worry about being attacked because that only happens in bad parts of cities like Detroit. It was hard not to hear that as you telling her in a coded way that she’s safe because she’s not black or poor (or both). Of course you should be glad that your kid is probably going to be safe, and do everything you can to ensure that. But often kids can handle hearing about risks without being lied to. They can handle hearing that sometimes people get hit by lightning, just really really rarely, so it’s probably not going to happen to them or anyone they know. As you’ve said many times, M is often way ahead of you, so she probably already knows that you weren’t quite telling her the truth. The next time it comes up, you’ll have an opportunity to talk about how gender and race violence intersect for someone like Laverne Cox, and how not every little girl like M can avoid “Detroit”.
    Keep up the awesome job you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

