Lord Help the Kids in the Red States

I knew it was coming, but it still broke my heart to see the news yesterday.  Our federal government has officially turned its back on one of the most vulnerable groups in our society: Transgender children like mine.

Here in my dark blue state, my kiddo is pretty insulated (for now – more trouble is brewing), but I shudder to think what’s in store for the kids everywhere else. They are now at the mercy of whatever misinformed, bigoted policies their local governments and schools districts choose to cook up.

redstatemama

Debi Jackson:  Mom. Warrior. Hero.

 

It’s a coincidence that I just happened to finish this podcast episode. It’s about a woman with a child like mine who lives in one of the many states where I wouldn’t dream of living, now that it’s open season on trans kids.  Listen to Red State Mama. This mama will rock your world.

I’m sorry to be so dreary.  I’m so sad today for our world. But please, please, please, don’t give up hope. If you feel like giving up, reach out – to me, to anyone who loves you, to anyone you trust.   We need you in this world.  Please don’t stop fighting until we get this world back on track, and make it a welcoming planet for ALL children. 

If you need help right now, call the Trans Lifeline. Talk to them. You are loved.

Trans Lifeline

http://www.translifeline.org/

US: (877) 565-8860 Canada: (877) 330-6366

Sending you ALL the mother of all hugs,

Marlo

 

7 thoughts on “Lord Help the Kids in the Red States

  1. Marlo,
    Thank you for your advocacy and support. I am the mother of a transgender daughter (10), and I recently quit my corporate job to advocate full-time for Trans Youth. See our story here: nogenderlines.com Please reach out if you ever need/want my support. I present at colleges/universities, middle schools and elementary schools; sharing our story and spreading awareness.
    We are blessed to have you supporting us.
    Stacy Drageset
    310.733.9636
    nogenderlines.com
    stacydrageset@gmail.com

  2. The Donald IS NOT and NEVER WAS a friend or supporter of transgender people. It is not surprising that he went down this path that denies trans school kids their basic human decency. At this point, Gendermom, we can hope that the U.S. Courts will step in and establish a basic right for the kids. There are already lawsuits and Gavin Grimm (transgender boy in HS) will be at the SCOTUS hearing to decide his case to use the school’s boy’s bathroom. Let us hope that they will do the right thing. This is all sad, but it also fuel to carry on the fight for what’s right! Let us be the happy warriors always glad to charge into battle with joyful and brave hearts!

  3. Thank you for this. I am so sorry to see that bill being put forth to make discrimination legal. I simply cannot wrap my heart and my head around the hatred in the world. I knew there was hate. I thought we were slowly improving. Instead, it seems we’ve regressed. I pray the people of the State of Washington quash that bill fast and furiously and that you, your darling daughter and your family remain safe. Best wishes.

  4. P.S. I thought to leave this comment on the podcast itself, but didn’t see a way to do it. The podcast is heartbreaking, enlightening, and heartwarming all at the same time. Your interview beautiful and sensitive, her responses poignant and amazingly brave. Once again, I pray for the safety of this family and that the cowards who hurl their horrid invectives and threats at the child and her family be made entirely impotent to do harm ever again against anyone.

Leave a Reply

